January 10 One week of prayer for a family member

fairy godmother.jpg

“A recipe has no soul. You, as the cook, must bring soul to the recipe.” Thomas Keller
Fairy Godmother gave me this suggestion this morning: “Pray for a member of your family to be blessed and do better in life for one week.” As I read it, I thought to myself which family member could I send love and prayer to for one whole week? Who could benefit the most? The truth is, we all can. I thought and thought and my heart could not settle on just one. So I am taking this particular I Dare Me Challenge to the NEXT LEVEL and I am going to pick one member of my family EACH WEEK to pray for love and blessings to come into their lives. I will focus on them every day during my morning prayer and meditation for the entire week. When that week is done, I will move on to the next family member. I love all of you and I’d like to say that I pray for you to be blessed and have everything you need to be happy all of the time, but I don’t. I forget. I get busy, distracted, consumed.
Almost each and every one of my Yoga-Teacher-Lady-Goddess-Women begin class with a moment of “intention” and ask each of us to come up with a person to whom we may want to dedicate our practice. There is a lot of energy in that sanctuary and focused energy on someone or something is powerful. I will use this time to say a quiet prayer to my loved one/ to think of a memory of him or her/ to ask for healing, understanding, acceptance. I will use the power of my breath and my movement to love each and every one of you. I’ll write your “name” in my bathroom (I know it’s a weird place but it’s to remind me each morning to include you – trust me this works – but yes it is a weird place).
You’re up Fairy Godmother, it’s your turn first. I love you and I miss you a lot. I have TWO yoga classes today, and you will be on my radar.
Briefly what I would like to say is this:
Thanks for all of the food. I was a chunky monkey as a kid and I always imagined that my super power was that I was a Good Eater. Oldest Brother was into karate, Middle Brother was an artist. I was a Plate Cleaner. I was good at that. This was my earliest life skill – to be a good eater. People who feed others are the most loving of all. Food not only feeds the body, it nourishes the soul. Smells of food transport me to places and events in my life that remind me of good times, remind me to take care of myself. To take care of others. I don’t exactly know how my blessing for you will craft itself when I am in the sanctuary, but I know that I will think of you and I will think of food. To me you are connected. Connected to that part of my Spirit that is hungry and has always been hungry. Connected to the part of me that knows how to nourish myself. Thank you for the food.

yoga6 yoga1

yoga3

Leave a Reply

