January 8 Dude, have you ever made a cape?

“I would wear a full-length cape if I could get away with it – I do love a good swirl in a fog.” Martin Freeman

james brownelvis

You would think that by now my fashion tastes (eccentric) and lifestyle (even more eccentric) would have required my making a cape of some sort at some time in my life. I have most certainly worn capes: had them draped on me like James Brown (or Elvis – whichever visual you prefer); dressed as a vampire (on more than one occasion which may or may not have included Halloween – yes I said it) and fancied myself a fairy, Batman, an angel, AND a devil but somehow I have never actually made a cape from scratch. Until today! Today my First was to make a cape and also to create two complete cosplay outfits for Comic Con ABQ 2016.

Getting all of the other clothing and gear for the costumes – guns, light saber, high heeled boots, hoochie momma lycra pants, men’s dress shoes, slacks and dress shirt, fabric paint, spray paint, black lipstick – all of that was a  piece of cake compared to the cape making.

How hard could it be? It’s like one single piece of material, right? RIGHT?? Ahhhh……. that’s what they want you to think.

It’s the collar that gets you. Just warning you ahead of time. It’s tricky business. If you ever need to costume yourself for any reason (business or pleasure, I don’t judge): BUY THE CAPE.

cape how to.PNG

Leave a Reply

