January 12 Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner – for dinner

“I don’t want to spend my life not having good food going into my pie hole. That hole was made for pies.” Paula Deen

Surely you have eaten breakfast for dinner? Of course you have. Lazy people everywhere have been doing that for decades. They call it “Breakfast For Dinner” as if it’s so chic, so French. Nope. It’s very American.

I took that concept and upped it a notch. Tonight as a First, I had breakfast, lunch and dinner, for dinner. It was divine.

When I got home from the gym at 7:30PM, Tall Handsome Son was fast asleep. >> Very unusual, he must have had a rough day. << I wondered to myself, had he eaten? If this cold weather made him ravenous like it did me? Did he have any idea about my spectacular plan for dinner? I went in his room and shut off the light, closed the door. Obviously, it wasn’t meant to be. This dinner was to be mine alone.

For my first course, the “breakfast” course,  I started with chocolate chip waffles. I topped them with whipped cream and cacao nibs. Only the best idea I’ve had all day! The warm waffles contrasted nicely with the refrigerated whipped cream and the sweetness of the chocolate chips and earthy cacao nibs played nicely on the palate.

DSCN0723.JPG

My second course was the “lunch” portion of the meal. One of my favorite lunches on a cold, winter day is a grilled cheese sandwich with tomato-basil soup. mmm…mmmmm…good. The sharpness of the cheddar and the tomatoey-ness of the soup were the perfect compliment to each other. Well played against the robust organic, whole grain bread.

DSCN0724

I rounded out the meal with a family favorite: meaty red beans and rice a la New Orleans. The salty ham, the heavenly beans and jasmine rice for a change. Hmmm…..interesting pairing.

DSCN0732.JPG

I love my life.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Brian says:

    Now I’m craving a grilled cheese! Pie hole…hahaha

    Like

Leave a Reply

