January 13 24-Hour Fast

popeyes.PNG

“The food you eat can be either the safest and most powerful form of medicine, or the slowest form of poison.” Ann Wigmore

A 24 hour fast was my First today. Some previous entries on my self-imposed Deprivation Resumé include: no television, cell phone, social media, alcohol, junk food, sex. I’ve gone without these things at different times in my life for differing lengths of time and different reasons. But This Girl has never missed any meals. A 24 hour fast was huge for me. HUGE.

There are many spiritual beliefs around fasting. The long and the short of it is this: when you fast, you let go of that which binds you to the physical world in order to receive all of your sustenance from the spiritual world.

I didn’t read any directions or anything. I just stopped eating and drank only water for a full 24 hours. Seemed pretty cut and dry to me. Then I waited…. for God to speak. Just kidding. I had no expectations of what was supposed to happen, I just let it happen. And pretty much, nothing did. I was upbeat for someone who hadn’t eaten. I’m usually not very pleasant to be around when I’m hungry, but I didn’t feel hungry until very late in the evening. At which time, I broke the fast because the time was up anyway. Lucky me.

I didn’t realize that there are very specific ways in which to break a fast, until after I had already gone through the drive-thru at Popeye’s. Oh well, next time I’ll do it right. This time I did it my way: Spicy 5 piece chicken strips, red beans and rice with a biscuit and sweet potato pie (which turned about to be apple pie) but as long as there is pie going in this pie hole………

Leave a Reply

