January 14 Nice People Rock!!

moms car.PNG“I’m not getting older, I’m becoming a classic.” Unknown

The first car I ever drove was a 1977 Datsun 280 Z, sky blue, with louvers and vanity plates, baby. And I drove the hell out of it. It was my mom’s car, purchased brand new. Believe me when I tell you that she loved that car. (She has the vanity plates on the wall in her house today to prove it “LADY C7”). Never mind that she had three kids and this was the family car (a 2-seater, sports car). Maybe if you understand my story, you’ll understand me. Life is about living passionately and doing what makes your heart sing. And if your kids have to triple-lap-up in a single seat for your heart to sing, so be it. My mom understood that. One day my kids will tell similar stories about me. Will they ever! Live your life like you won’t have it forever, because, you kinda won’t. You can quote me on that.

Today I went to a luncheon for a co-worker who found another job. We ate, said our good-byes, then headed out to the parking lot to get back to the office. And then I saw the car.

car

It wasn’t a sports car, it was a 1967 Datsun 411 SSS. Still… a pretty sweet find! You don’t see a whole lot of Datsun’s on the road these days. The owner of the car works with me but we didn’t really know each other. We met briefly at a Christmas band rehearsal a couple of months ago when I chickened out of singing Christmas carols (a First that could’ve been – but wasn’t). He showed a group of us his sweet ride: interior, exterior, radio, under the hood, the trunk. The history of the car, the soul of the car took me back to another lifetime. I am a lover of “old” things, things with a distinct identity. Objects made with character that someone loved, cherished. This car had all of that.

Even though we barely knew each other, he let me ride shotgun back to the office. This was a first for me. Not getting into a car with a stranger – I’m from California – that is par for the course. Getting into this car with a stranger. We talked about the 411. We laughed about my mom buying a sports car with three kids in-tow. The sun came out. All around, it was a pretty awesome afternoon. There are a lot of nice people in this town. I hope to meet all of you.

ladyc7.PNG

Leave a Reply

