January 17 Two-Hour Meditation Group

 meditation2.PNG

“Sleep is the best meditation.” Dalai Lama

If you’ve ever tried to meditate for five minutes, you know how hard that can be. Sit and breathe. That’s it. No praying, no thinking, no goal-setting, no complaining, no planning what to do when meditation is over, no mental checklists. Sit and breathe. That’s it.

Today my First was to go to a free, two-hour meditation group hosted by a local meditation center. I meditate every day, in-private or at the yoga sanctuary, but never have I gone to a real meditation center where the only thing they do is meditate. FOR TWO HOURS. The difference between what I normally do and what I did today is like the difference between listening to a song on your phone and performing the song  on stage, with the band, in front of a crowd of 20,000 people. Yup, that’s an apt description. Today I upped my meditation game by like a thousand-million.

I actually love meditating because I love doing nothing. I do, it’s true. I can’t think of anything that makes me happier than doing and thinking absolute nothingness. >Bliss< But I had to get there. And I can’t always do it. It’s a hit or miss thing at this point in my meditation practice.

Meditation (not holding on to thoughts, just letting them float by like puffy clouds) was very difficult for me in the beginning. I couldn’t turn off  my monkey mind. I would think about everything, and then I would argue with myself (in my mind) because I was thinking about everything, then I would obsess over how not to think about everything.  Then my allotted meditation time would be over. I’d get up off the floor and do it all over again the next day. Can you say “cray-cray”? This stuff will make you crazy.

I’ve read books on meditation. Books, plural. Lots of books. I’ve listened to guided meditations on youtube. I’ve talked to people about meditating. And after all of the stuff I’ve read and watched and discussed, I finally listened to what they have been telling me to do all along: sit and breathe. That’s it. Brilliant.

my med pillow
My meditation space
One Comment Add yours

  1. Brian says:

    I think it would difficult to turn off my brain. Kudos!

    Like

Leave a Reply

