January 23 Raiders of the Lost Ark, the Historic Kimo Theatre and Food Smuggling

kimo1.PNG

“You never realize how boring your life is until someone asks you what you like to do for fun.” Anonymous

Is it a sin to bring your own snacks to the movie theater when the sign clearly states that outside food and drink are not allowed? This is a real-life question from www.catholic.com forum. Seriously, folks? This is what I now have to add to my list of worries? Others in this same category include: Will you burn in eternal damnation for lying about your kids age so that they can get the reduced price ticket? Is the movie theater the real “devil” for charging such outrageous prices for their tickets and snacks? These are all very good questions that Tall Handsome Son and I set out to answer today. As for the burning in eternal hellfire, we’ll have to wait and see.

snacks.PNG
This was the best I could do for junk food

 

I searched my cabinets looking for contraband to bring in to the movie theater: pork jerky, dried mangoes, Vienna Sausages, fruit snacks, roasted seaweed (no comments on my junk food – I didn’t plan this ahead of time). Stuffed all of it in my bag, covered up by lots of junk-mail to hide it from Movie Guy checking bags. We were going to try to sneak in a whole pizza but even that was a little too ambitious for our skill level and the size of my messenger bag, so we opted for Dunkin’ Donuts.

The real First today was going to the historic Kimo Theatre downtown. It’s an historical landmark and an architecturally interesting place. We watched Raiders of The Lost Ark from 1981. This was another First for me, I had never seen it. Harrison Ford was some kind of sexy back in the day! I had no idea that this movie was about finding the Ark of the Covenant before the Nazis could find it. Dang, Steven Spielberg. A little heavy.

All in all, we had a great afternoon.

kimo3.PNG

kimo4.PNG

donuts.PNG
Me and my Dunkin’ Donuts bag
Leave a Reply

