January 24 Beer Can Appreciation Day

can appreciation 2
I got a hat and a meal out of that cheap beer

“Crocheters save their good yarn for their favorite people. So if your next scarf is kind of scratchy…Sorry, you didn’t make the cut.” Your Grandma

Up until today, I wholeheartedly believed that I could crochet. I also believed that I had once made a scarf when I was 12. After painstakingly teaching myself to crochet today using numerous how-to videos, diagrams and written instructions, I am now ready to admit that I lied and created a false memory to validate the lie.  Whatever I made when I was 12 was not a crocheted anything. Be damned red winter scarf! The closest I’ve come to crochet was waiting in the car while my mom went in to JoAnn Fabrics to buy a pattern or something. You may think that crochet is easy because your grandma does it. Ha! I am here to tell you that your granny is probably a ninja. There is nothing about crochet that’s easy.

In honor of Beer Can Appreciation Day I thought I would combine my love of doing something new, the 1970’s and Jamaica. Red Stripe beer cans are about as generic as they come, but that doesn’t mean that one cannot show appreciation on Beer Can Appreciation Day. I appreciate their simplicity. These beer can hats were quite popular when I was a kid in the 70’s. Since I don’t drink beer, I made a chicken and sweet potato stew with my Jamaican Lager (delicious). It only took ALL DAY.

can appreciation
Before
can appreciation 3.PNG
I was so exhausted, I couldn’t even make the brim….maybe next year.
One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

