February 7 Haiku

msg
Prince and Kim K.

“Haiku is a snapshot in time. No veils, no mystery – it is exactly as it reads. The mind perceives everything moment by moment. The haiku is a moment in time, pure and unblemished.”

To know me, is to know that I love Prince. The music, the persona, the hair and the heels. The first time I danced on stage with him was in 1997 and it was out of this world! My mom was there, Older Charming (and also Handsome) Son was there, my cousins were there, my friends were there. It was unbelievable. The next two times in ’98 were pretty surreal as well, I thought I must be the luckiest girl in the world. I later spoke with him at length at a gathering in 2001 and it wasn’t so spectacular, we basically argued nicely for several hours then finally gave up on each other. You can’t win ’em all.

On this day in history: February 7, 2011, I was temporarily living on the East Coast and present at Prince’s “Welcome 2 America” Tour at Madison Square Garden. My actual ticket was for the nose bleed section but I only used that thing to get in the door. Once I was in, I hit the ground floor. His is not a show that I ever want to watch from section X seat 32. Nope. I’m more of a front row kinda girl. The front row at this show was full, as were the next several rows, so once I snuck into the exclusive floor seat section, I randomly picked a seat that seemed like it would be a good vantage point to enjoy the show.

I got there early, of course. A lot of the other concert-goers hadn’t arrived. Cee-Lo Green (the opening act) hadn’t even come out onto the stage yet. I was sitting there anxiously waiting for the show to begin. As I sat there, every single seat in my entire section, probably 50 or more seats, began to fill in. I was getting a little nervous that the rightful ticket holder of my seat would come and claim it and I would be bounced back up to the rafters. As it got closer and closer to show time, nobody came to claim my seat. People all around me were sitting in the wrong seats (on purpose – to be closer to the stage) but they had to move when the ticket owner came to claim their seat. Not me, though! I was right up front and it seemed hard to believe that all of Madison Square Garden had sold out, except for this one single seat. Whatever. I rolled with it.

The show started and in true Prince fashion, he was spectacular! When he called out for someone to get up on stage and dance with him I was ready. Already on my feet, I made my way up toward the stage. Not today! He pulled some other chick in a red dress on stage. Missed my chance! Well, this other chick was Kim Kardashian and once she got on the stage she just stood there. She didn’t dance! Hello? What are you doing? Why are you in my place right now, Miss Thang, if you are not going to work all that in that red dress? Disappointing…..

Today, I’m in bed because I’m not feeling that great. I was thinking about better days, like Prince concerts and such. I wrote a haiku in honor of that Prince concert on February 7, 2011. A haiku is a Japanese poem of seventeen syllables broken up in three lines. First line is five syllables, second line is seven, and third line is five.

I’ve never written a haiku before, so here it is:

I wore my red dress

He called her up on the stage

Big Booty can’t dance

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

