February 9 Down With OPP

naughty.PNG
Treach, Lulu, Vin Rock & DJ Kay Gee
“Rap comes from the humble beginnings of rebelling against the status quo. Now, rappers have become the status quo themselves. You can’t rebel against the Queen and then become the Queen yourself. I attribute much of the blame to testosterone-male dominance and patriarchy.”  Chuck D.
I guess I had to wait 25 years to see Naughty by Nature, New Jersey based hip/hop rappers. They tore the house down at the Sister Bar tonight! It was a really good show and far exceeded my expectations. I love that they incorporated other hip hop artists’ songs in their act. Bobbin’ our heads and dancing to NWA, 2Pac, Digital Underground, Biggie, Outkast, KRS One, Public Enemy, Sugarhill Gang, Kurtis Blow, The B-I-G-D-A Double-D-Y Big Daddy Kane! Me and T-Breezy were lovin’ it!
There were mostly youngsters in the crowd with a sprinkling of old-heads. I’m old school by virtue of the fact that I was alive when the original hip hop songs were birthed into the universe. These songs are the soundtrack to my life. Remember KDIA, KSOL, the old KMEL when they switched over to R&B with Rick Chase & Cameron Paul (Chuy Gomez is on-air in ABQ these days~ lol). You remember recording your favorite songs from the radio onto your cassette tapes. Come on now!

I love J.Cole and Kendrick Lamar, don’t get me wrong but ol’ skool is where it’s at for me! My sons listen to new songs that sample those original tracks. Music is the unifying element that transcends age, culture, gender, class, time and distance. Thank you Treach and Uncle Vinny for taking me on a trip to the highlights and good times of my life tonight. Whoop! Whoop!

 

naughty2
Me and T Breezy with Naughty

naughty3.PNG

naughty4.PNG

naughty5.PNG

Leave a Reply

