February 12 My Name Is Prince And I Am Funky

prince.PNG
On my way to the 80’s party

“No well-behaved woman ever made history.” Laurel Thatcher Ulrich

I saw the advertisement for the 80’s party in the Alibi this morning and thought: “That’s all me!” At first, I figured I’d go as RunDMC in an Adidas track suit and comfy Adidas gym shoes. I went to the thrift stores looking for 1980’s sweat suits and came up dry. I briefly toyed with the idea of getting some lace gloves and frilly Madonna-esque gear and dressing as The Material Girl. But I no longer have my blonde hair with black roots. Then I looked in thelau mirror and I just felt it: PRINCE! Of course, I’ve never been him before. My First for today was to dress up as Prince and go to a Flashback 80’s Video Music Party at Sister Bar.

I had so much fun and I got so much love from everyone that danced near me on the dance floor. They played all of the 80’s hits. The crowd went nuts when the DJ played anything by Prince or Michael Jackson. There were so many other good songs that I’ve missed listening to regularly: “Come on Eileen” Dexy’s Midnight Runners, “Super Freak” Rick James, “Obsession” The Human League, “Blister in the Sun” Violent Femmes, “Loveshack” B-52’s, “Sweet Dreams” Eurythmics, “Baby Got Back” Sir Mix A Lot, “Livin’ On A Prayer” Bon Jovi, “Another One Bites The Dust” Queen. It was great! I really enjoyed myself. It was high energy for hours. My feet hurt!

Of course, I had a photo shoot before I left home because that’s what the real Prince would do…more photos at the club. This was ridiculously fun. By the end of the night I sweated my mustache off!

prince w guitar

prince2.PNG

prince3.PNG
No Prince photo shoot would be complete without photos of ‘him’ in the bath tub sucking in ‘his’ cheeks

prince4.PNG

 

prince5.PNG
The straight-ahead stare

 

prince8.PNG

bathtub
LMAO

 

prince7.PNG

prince10.PNG

club5.PNG
Gotta kiss myself I’m so pretty!
club
I just want your extra time and your…KISS

 

club2.PNG

club3.PNG

club4.PNG

5 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

