February 20 Afro Cuban Salsa Two Times

“We can’t always choose the music life plays for us but we can choose how we dance to it.” Anonymous

I took my very first ever Afro-Cuban Salsa class today and then I took my second ever Afro-Cuban Salsa class right after that one. Why? Because why not? Sister-Cousin invited me to go with her to a couple of dance classes today at The Beat in Berkeley with teacher, Erick. I would highly recommend doing this! I had so much fun dancing and sweating and trying to keep up! He is such a fun and informative teacher. Thank you, Erick!

I stepped on someone’s bare foot with my gym shoes, bumped into people, twirled and turned the wrong way, was on the wrong foot, etc. but everyone was understanding, they were new once too. We went out Latin dancing last night as well, but I opted to wait for today’s class. I was tired yesterday after walking the lake, power-shopping, dinner and clubbing. You better bring your A-game for this kind of dancing! Love my Sister-Cousin and her friends: ya’ll get down! I wanna be like them when I grow up and get my dancing feet.

I have it on my to-do list to go to an African Dance Class and also a Latin Dance Class when I get back to Albuquerque. I think Afro-Cuban hasn’t been explored yet in Albuquerque. If it has and I am incorrect on this, give me a shout out, I would love to try again.

I was dancing so I didn’t get any video of my class but this is a youtube video uploaded by the instructor and it is a compilation of his classes. I would say this is a pretty fair representation of the stuff I (tried) to do. It was very hard. But it was fun.

Leave a Reply

