February 22 National Margarita Day

margaritas.PNG

“If life gives you limes, make margaritas.” Jimmy Buffet

Today is National Margarita Day. We deeply respect and value its place in our history so we honor this sacred tequila lime drink and also the sacred frozen strawberry version of it. I am not a margarita drinker and I’ve never celebrated the special day which honors it. Nonetheless, I planned an outing with friends to Papa Felipe’s after work to explore the wonder and allure of the margarita. I ordered a “red” one because I like red stuff. You know, like strawberries, raspberries, jolly ranchers and kool-aid.

Apparently my peeps are margarita aficionados. They ordered the “Cabo Wabo,” “Supremo,” “Cadillac” and the “Baja.” Whoop tee do! (Pinky finger in the air). I should have picked something with a prettier name, maybe I would have gotten a prettier glass. Theirs looked like real drinks, grown up drinks, the kind you get on vacation on an exotic island with a dark-haired man named Milo or Wolfgang. Mine looked like a cherry slurpee from 7/11 poured into an old pickle jar. Theirs reminded me of salsa music, warm summer nights, the ocean breeze, bronzed bare shoulders and strappy high-heeled sandals. Mine made me think of banjos, beehives too close to the back porch, cars on the lawn and dirty bare feet. Lessons learned.

I had a great time, thanks for coming out. Let’s do it again!

slurpee

Leave a Reply

