February 25 Poetry Slam

poets.PNG
Mercedes Holtry, Lulu Starchild, Eva Crespin

 

“One day I decided that I was beautiful, and so I carried out  my life as if I was a beautiful girl. It doesn’t have anything to do with how the world perceives you. What matters is what you see.” Gabby Sidibe

The Women of The World Poetry Slam will be in Brooklyn next month. Tonight I went to Bookworks to support two local poets in a fund-raising event to get them there. Mercedes Holtry and Eva Crespin are baddies. I love the way they use words to take you on a journey through the winding road of their pain, struggle and mastery. These women are  powerful. Their words are powerful. I was literally in tears listening to them sing and speak in performance tonight.

They spit out brand new poetry for us. Poems that were written in the last few weeks. Poems that are definitely about women’s issues: the stigma of pretty, sexuality, homosexuality, racial identity, family. Tall Handsome Son heard anger in their words. I heard truth. So interesting.

Leave a Reply

