February 29 No Make-Up Monday

“People will stare. Make it worth their while.” Harry Winston, the King of Diamonds

I always work out make-up free. I go to the gym clean faced, definitely no make-up in hot yoga blacking out my eyes, sweating down my chin and dripping onto my mat, and on the weekends you may catch me make-up free running errands. But I have never gone to work make-up free. I don’t wear a ton of make-up, but I dread that “I just woke up” look that I get when I skip the mascara. I usually try to look fairly nice at work. I interact with lots of people.

Today my First was to go to work make-up free. I felt it necessary to explain to my friends. But here’s the thing: people don’t really pay as much attention to you as you think they do. Nobody even noticed or cared once I explained. It was liberating realizing that in the grand scheme of things, people don’t really care what weird thing you have chosen to do today and probably won’t notice anyway. Once you free yourself from caring what others think about you, you can fly! Try it, I got your back.

Leave a Reply

