March 8 Speeding Ticket on a Military Base

“My life is a speeding bullet that just hasn’t hit the target yet.” Kid Cudi

This is a happy story. Yesterday I bought myself a trip for my birthday. A trip that I have been wanting to go on for 3 years. It’s actually going to be three trips in one because…why not? Before I leave, I plan to spend a few days in LA, then fly out of LA to a country that I have always wanted to visit then proceed on to the country which is the main focus of the trip for a two week vacay. Super excited about all of this but I don’t want to ruin the surprise for you, Dear Reader, so I will keep a lid on it.

In my excited state, I woke up this morning at 4:45AM, ready to hit the gym to get my bikini body on for this birthday trip. I jumped out of bed, got my workout gear on, hopped in the car, turned the music up loud and made my way to the gym. My gym happens to be on an Air Force Base. So far, so good, right? Well…in my super happy, pumped up, excited state, I happened to be driving wayyyyy too fast for a quiet, dusty, road on an Air Force Base at 5AM. And yes, you guessed it, I got popped. I got a speeding ticket. Me! The woman who is not a grandma, but drives like one. I was sure that he would look at my exemplary driving record and give me a warning and send me on my way. No such luck.

The main MP (Military Police) guy, who looked to be all of 19 years old stood squarely at my driver’s window while the other MP guy stood at my passenger window with his hand on his semi-automatic pistol. Really? All of that for me? It was a bit unnerving. I didn’t want to be shot while reaching for a registration or proof of insurance card so I announced everything that I was about to do BEFORE I actually did it. I highly advise this approach to anyone in a similar situation. I don’t know about you, but having a kid with his hand on a gun while barking out orders makes me a little uneasy.

It took them 25 minutes after taking my ID and proof of insurance to produce a speeding ticket, which totally cut in to my workout! Dang, dude. When I got the ticket and saw the $90 penalty, I was flabbergasted. I let him know that I didn’t think that was a fair price. At which time he let me know that I was lucky and should be glad. He said that if I had been given a ticket “outside of the gate” (meaning in the city – not on the Air Force Base) that this would have been a $300 ticket.Yeah, ok buddy. Sure. So I am going to turn this frown upside down and be grateful that I wasn’t stopped by the police outside of the gate. When you think about it like that: $90 vs $300, it ain’t so bad. I just saved $210. Told you this is a happy story.

Leave a Reply

