April 9 A First About Missed Firsts

missedops

“Our lives are defined by opportunities, even the ones we miss.” Eric Roth, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button Screenplay

I’m roughly 100 days into this do-something-new-every-day-thing and let me tell you, it hasn’t been easy. Some Firsts just show up with zero planning or forethought, they just happen, like the Mock Interview With Google, the Beet Burger or my son getting busted having a Spring Break Party. Those Firsts organically unfolded beautifully. Other Firsts are on The List and have been suggested to me by friends and family, like Geocaching, taking a class at the library and Comic Con. I have a spreadsheet of when and where the event that has been suggested will take place. Some are recurring events and some only happen once a year.

Today my First is to write about the Firsts that you’ve never heard about. There are many quirky Firsts that I wanted to have, but for whatever reason they just didn’t work out. This is the post about the Firsts that were not meant to be. I’ve shown up at places where something is supposed to be happening without knowing it’s been canceled. Sometimes no one else shows up and I just wait there for a while until I realize that I should go home and try to think of another First for that day. In every case, it was something that I really wanted to do, that’s why I chose it for that day. It sucks when I have to scramble and find some other new thing to do for that day. Generally, I have to have a plan, a back-up plan and a back-up for the back-up plan. Needless to say that I prefer the organic Firsts, no pre-planning required.

So here is my Great List of Missed Firsts:

  1. Sacred Kiva (Sweat Lodge) with Healing By an Urban Shaman
  2. Hypnotism Class
  3. Lap Dance Class
  4. Writer’s Workshop
  5. Hand Eye Yoga For People Who Work With Their Hands
  6. Southwest Burlesque Show
  7. Full Moon Howl at the Moon Ceremony
  8. African Dance With Drum Circle
  9. Punk Rock Flea Market
  10. Blog Writing for a Roller Derby Team
  11. Super Hero Run
  12. Elvis Impersonation
  13. Support Unknown Comedians Raising Money for Animal Shelters
  14. Celebrate National Kazoo Day
  15. Totally Flake Out For Leap Year Because It’s a Free Day
  16. Celebrate Middle Name Pride Day
  17. SXSW Austin Texas
  18. Celebrate National Pancake Day
  19. Celebrate National Sleeping in Public Day
  20. Go to a Show For National Sword Swallowers Day
  21. Comic Book Shakespeare
  22. Make a Piñata resembling genitalia

I know what you’re thinking, there’s still time… right you are!

Leave a Reply

