April 12 National Grilled Cheese Sandwich Day

“You can’t go wrong with relatively simple comfort food. It’s also about ease. Some cook to impress. I cook for people to enjoy the food.” Al Roker

You’ve probably been waiting all year for this day: National Grilled Cheese Sandwich Day. I didn’t have grilled cheese sandwiches as a kid. This was something I had to wait for until adulthood. The BEST grilled cheese sandwich I’ve ever had was at the LA Café in downtown Los Angeles at 2:30 in the morning. I went there with my friend, Mr. Wonderful, he’s a DJ. As we were getting dressed for the club, talking about music, what kind of crowd might be there, I was wondering if I would get to spend any time with him at all. What I didn’t realize when I first met Mr. Wonderful is that when you go to the club with the DJ, you are essentially going out alone. He has to work.

I was pondering all of the trivialities of LA nightlife as we walked in, when he turns to me and asks: “You wanna get a grilled cheese later on after the club?” Weird thing to ask, but Mr. Wonderful truly is wonderful so I was down for anything. “Yep. Sure.” I’m sure I said something as equally unenthusiastic as that. But that was because I didn’t KNOW. I did not know what masterpieces can be created with bread and cheese and LOBSTER at 2:30 in the AM in LA. Seriously. This sandwich is freakin’ delicious! The lobster grilled cheese has lobster, lots of brie cheese, cheddar cheese, grainy mustard mayo and tarragon on country white bread. Shut the front door! So good.

Today I wanted to make this delicacy for my child, Tall Handsome Son. Since I am not anywhere near an ocean, lobster was a no-go. I actually had lobster  in the freezer specifically purchased for the purpose of replicating the LA Café lobster grilled cheese sandwich but Juicy came over one night and was drinking himself dizzy and getting ice out of the freezer for his drink and left the freezer open all night. So there went the lobster – and the raspberry popsicles. I think he owes me a trip to LA… and to Sprouts.

Nevertheless, tonight I made grilled cheese sandwiches for me and my boy with bacon instead of lobster. As weird as it sounds, I’ve never had a grilled cheese sandwich with bacon on it. Why didn’t I think of this sooner? I think my boy liked it. What do you think?

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

