April 28 Discussion Panel Participant: Women In STEM

“Step into my mind. Look ahead, don’t look behind. I’m five years ahead of my time.” Primal Scream, I’m Five Years Ahead of My Time

The road to NOW has been, at times, a meandering path, a raging white-water river, a free-fall from the sky, a Winchester Mystery House labyrinthine maze of stairways that lead to nowhere and windows that open up on to brick walls. But I’m here NOW, no matter what it took to get me here.

I was asked to participate in a Women In STEM (Science Technology Engineering Math) Discussion Panel at work today for Take Our Daughters and Sons to Work Day. There were about 50 people in the audience (mostly young girls and their parents). In a word, I am non-traditional. I did not take the easy path nor the short path nor the straight path nor the common path to a career in STEM. I am one of those learn-as-you-go types. I “go” a lot and believe that I have learned lots as a result. I’ve lived on both coasts, in the mid-west, south and southwest. I’ve worked as an international banker, makeup artist, pharmacy tech and electrician, among other things. To the untrained mind, I may appear to fly by the seat of my pants and be a bit spasmodic. Well, yes I am, to the untrained mind, to the traditionally-minded career person.

However, I like to believe that I was just ahead of my time.

Leave a Reply

