May 4 May the Fourth Be With You

maythe 4th

“No art, however minor, demands less than total dedication if you want to excel in it.” Leon Battista Alberti

Tall Handsome Son is always kickin’ knowledge. (Definition: in case you don’t know, to kick knowledge is to impart wisdom, to inform – in Lulu-speak). Partly because he is a wise old sage, light-years beyond his 15 years and 10 months and also because he is a fan of Star Wars. Yep, what does that have to do with anything? I used to half-way listen to the messages of Star Wars The Animated Series that he would devotionally watch when he was but a wee-lad. And it’s deep.

I like the message of Star Wars, which is pretty much the message of Buddhism. I’m sure I am not the first person to draw this comparison. The more I listened to his cartoon Star Wars series (adapted for children), I realized the underlying messages of peace (to use The Force for good and knowledge and not for violence). Even the way the Jedi dress is similar to Buddhist monks, with their robes and belts. The name of the Senator Amidala sounds like Dalai Lama.  Jedi meditate to feel at one with The Force, Buddhists meditate to clear the path for enlightenment. We could do this forever.

To celebrate May the Fourth (Be With You) I decided to compile some of the pretty awesome quotes and messages from Star Wars that would not be a bad idea to incorporate into your consciousness, should you find yourself so inclined.

“Your eyes can deceive you. Don’t trust them.” Obi-Wan Kenobi

“Your focus determines your reality.” Qui-Gon Jinn (Obi-Wan Kenobi’s teacher, in case you didn’t know that off the top of your head) I take this to mean inner focus not visual focus (refer to first quote about eyes and deception and all that).

“Do. Or do not. There is no try.” Yoda (Everyone on earth knows this quote, yes? Everyone on earth?)

“Once you start down the dark path, forever it will dominate your destiny, consume you it will.” Yoda (“Forever? Forever? Forever Ever? Forever ever?” – Outkast)

“You will find that many of the truths we cling to depend greatly on our own point of view.” Obi-Wan Kenobi. Ponder that for a moment, really…ponder. Now.

“Train yourself to let go of everything you fear to lose.” Yoda to Annakin Skywalker (spoiler alert: Annakin grows up to become Darth Vader, ya’ll)

“Only what you take with you.” Yoda says to Luke as Luke asks what he should take with him into the Cave of Evil. This is so deep on so many levels, that I don’t even have the words…

So this is what I did today. I never knew that I was such a Star Wars fan. I don’t even get it (chronologically) because they messed me all up with prequels and stuff. One day I will watch all of the Star Wars films in order. The real order 1-7, not 3,4,5 then 1,2,3,7 or whatever in the heck they did to squeeze more money out of nerds. I’m not doing the two TV shows (Star Wars: The Clone Wars and Star Wars Rebels) and the video games (The Force Unleashed and The Force Unleashed II) as Tall Handsome Son has implored. That ain’t happening. I don’t care if it is all canon. I don’t have to know everything about everything.

Leave a Reply

