May 5 Cinco de Calamari

calamari
This question actually happened
“Somebody should tell us, right at the start of our lives, that we are dying. Then we might live life to the limit, every minute of every day. Do it! I say. Whatever you want to do, do it now! There are only so many tomorrows.”  Pope Paul VI

Nope, there were no tacos for me today on Cinco de Mayo. But there were margaritas. Get this: the guy I was with doesn’t eat tacos because what? They are too exotic? But he ate calamari. Hmmm… people are soooo interesting. To be fair, he had never eaten calamari and didn’t even know what it was, so technically I tricked him (a First for me, I have never tricked a grown man into eating grown man food. However, Older Charming and Also Handsome Son is still scarred from the old calamari trickaroo that I pulled  on him when he was five. Sorry, baby, I just didn’t want you to be a damn-near, 40-year old dude who refuses to eat anything that doesn’t look like a burger – ahem). Back to the story: since my guy doesn’t eat tacos, I could’ve ordered a platter of tacos and called that calamari and tricked him again. But I’m a sweetheart and I don’t prey upon closed doors. Somebody should probably pray for me now. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

