May 16 Roses For Me?

 

IMG_1321[1]

“All the flowers that you planted, baby, in the backyard, all died when you went away.” Prince, Nothing Compares 2 U

My neighbor bought me a rose bush today. How sweet! I am an avid gardener but of the indoor variety. That comment always gets a few raised eyebrows. If you know me, you know I love plants! Love, love, love, plants. But being from California, and never really having a yard (as an adult), I learned to bring the outdoors, indoors. If you are from somewhere else, where rent is not sky-high and you can afford to live in a real house with a real yard, you have absolutely no idea what I am talking about right now. Everybody doesn’t have a yard. Or ever hope to have one. Some people have resigned themselves to living in apartments, condos, houses broken up into shared living spaces, etc. And I was one of those people. Well I don’t live in California currently and I actually have a yard. Imagine that. With not one living thing in it. So, my very sweet neighbor got me a rose bush. She knocked on my door and told me to come on over and check it out. I love the name of this rose bush: Happy Go Lucky. Trying to be! I’m going to re-name my rose bush Rosie Gaines. Ya’ll know.

Shout out to Bobby T. I just watched this video for like the millionth time and I see my long-lost friend from San Francisco in the audience at time 3:12. Love you, Bobby!

roses

Leave a Reply

