May 17 It’s All In The Cards

candy land
Before it got loud and rowdy

“My candy land is not for free.” Justina Valentine

 

This evening Tall Handsome Son and I went to the library for Board Game Night. A couple of things about that: 1). We were the only ones who showed up to play board games, and 2). They only had baby games. So we did what anybody would do in that situation, we had a Candy Land Smackdown right in the middle of the Children’s Section of the Main Library. And I mopped the floor with that boy, all up and down Gum Drop Mountain!

I’ve been playing Candy Land for over 40 years, ya heard? Candy Land is not a game of skill, it is a game of chance and apparently, I am a beast at games of chance. I won several times but most notably, I won with only four cards drawn. Purple, double-purple, ice cream cone and another double-purple. IN YOUR FACE!! We were playing an extreme version Candy Land: winner take all and having a trash talking, good time. At one point it seemed like a couple of small children wanted to join in our diabolical game of chance featuring plastic gingerbread men, Princess Frostines, Nana Nutts, peppermints, licorice and colored squares, but I think the way I smacked the cards down and yelled “Take that, Suckerrrrrr!” might have frightened those sweet little rosy-cheeked pre-schoolers. Next time, Kiddos, next time. Momma’s gotta get to King Kandy’s Castle!

candyland3
Victory…again!
candy land2
King Kandy
3 Comments Add yours

  1. sparkyjen says:

    I love that you and your son played with the game that you found. And you had fun (in a diabolically competitive way) playing it. I wasn’t raised on any kind of game, so I may not have been much competition. I’m definitely a spectator on things of this sort. But I certainly enjoyed reading your rendition of you playing your son. It also stuck me that you and son are close. You enjoy each others company, and get each other. That for me was what I liked most about your post. Maybe I don’t know what I’m talking about. You know what they say about assumptions though right?! Hope I hit the nail on the head here.

    Like

    1. You are so right, I love BOTH of my boys. Thanks for the comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

