May 26 Learning to Juggle

“It always seems impossible until it is done.”

I tried to learn to juggle today for the First time ever. This isn’t something you can learn in one day. Or should I say, this isn’t something I can learn in one day. I watched an instructional video on how to juggle then I tried it. The video I was making, shut off part way through so I had to start over again.

If you don’t know this about me, let me tell you: I break stuff. I break it with my mind. I’m not exactly sure why things break/flip out/malfunction in my presence but they do. Cell phones, watches, televisions, cars, video equipment, computers, ESPECIALLY COMPUTERS, you name it. I must have some kinda Bermuda Triangle energy because for the last 16 or so years I have many, many stories of hardware going haywire in my presence.

The first time it happened was when I was in labor with my second son. I wasn’t supposed to be in labor because he wasn’t due for 10 more weeks so it was a stressful time. I called the hospital from work to tell them that I was coming in to deliver a baby and that somebody had better call my doctor because he is definitely not expecting me. During that phone conversation, the nurse and I got disconnected about 8 or 9 times and had to keep calling each other back. Usually when I tell this story, someone will say, “Cell phones do that all the time, that’s not uncommon.” Neither of us was on a cell phone though, I was at work and they were at a hospital and we were talking on a land line. Weird.

I had to be driven from San Francisco to Berkeley in the company car, because I worked in SF but lived in the East Bay and that’s where my hospital was located. On the trip across the Bay Bridge, the entire dashboard of the Lincoln Town Car lost power. The car was still working but all of the electrical functioning of the car went down. My manager Deirdre and my co-worker, Robert, freaked out inside but on the outside, they kept it cool. They didn’t tell me about any of this electrical malfunctioning until a month later when I finally delivered my baby safely. I was put on hospital-bed-rest for a month trying not to have this baby pre-maturely (I almost got kicked out of the hospital for setting up a gambling ring in which wagers were placed on predictions of bed-resting-mommy’s-to-be due dates. I was a different person back then -way more awesome). My second son was early but not as early as he wanted to be. And ever since that day, things have broken themselves in my presence.

So you know, juggling and the video on my phone turning itself off is not that big of a deal to me. Things are always turning themselves off around me. If only I could learn to juggle…I might be able to right this strange breaking/broken energy. I’m still working on it. It’s going to take a lot of practice.

Basically this video shows nothing but it’s what I have, so happy viewing. My hair looks fly.

Leave a Reply

