June 3 Mini Zine

“Perhaps it’s impossible to wear an identity without becoming what you pretend to be.” Orson Scott Card, Ender’s Game

What is a zine? A self published alternative, underground mini magazine usually on some obscure topic. It is non-commercial, non-professional and non-mainstream. It’s what you do with your time if you are a weirdo. Guilty as charged. This is how I made it:

zine
How to make a zine out of a sheet of paper

My zine is about Identity. This is how I made it: I randomly chose a magazine, Better Homes And Gardens, then randomly chose pretty pictures to cut out, then randomly pasted them on the pages of my zine. I believed that the story would unfold once I saw the way things were pasted on the pages. And it did. I put zero thought into this, I wanted it to be organic and to come from my soul. I had no idea how spot-on that would prove to be. Although this is a silly thing, a child’s craft, I think the child in us will lead us to the truth. Here is my truth:

zine1
This is what my zine looked like before I folded it to make it into a booklet
zine2
This is the cover of my zine
zine3
Page 1
zine4
Page 2
zine5
Page 3
zine6
The End
One Comment Add yours

  1. i like this idea-bet it was theraputic-and thought provoking. Yours is pretty too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

