June 15 Museum, Rice Terrace, Yoga

DSCN1654

“We don’t realize that, somewhere within us all, there does exist a supreme self who is eternally at peace.” Liz Gilbert, Eat, Pray, Love

I went to the Museum Puri Lukisan today to see traditional Balinese art. The detail and workmanship in the Balinese art is unparalleled. I saw many stories in the art that I felt in my heart. Stories about family, love, ritual, worship. My guide explained much of the Hindu religious beliefs. Bali is a melting pot of Hindu and Muslim religions, Asian, Arabic and European cultures.

After the museum, I headed to the rice terraces and had lunch. After lunch, I climbed the rice terrace – no small feat. Many, many stairs and climbing dirt paths. This was a lot of work and not a trek for the weary. This trek was very physically demanding. I greatly enjoyed sunset restorative yoga at the Yoga Barn in Ubud afterward. It was very relaxing. The sound of rain was soothing. To top off the evening, a seafood dinner on the beach. Another great day in paradise!

DSCN1689
Museum entrance
DSCN1713
Lulu in a tree

DSCN1692

DSCN1693

DSCN1694
Shiny, sweaty, happy!

DSCN1695

DSCN1696
Pig
DSCN1697
Rama and Sita

DSCN1707

DSCN1703
Angels
DSCN1704
Hindu gods
DSCN1710
Balinese art is very detailed, this drawing depicts the marketplace
DSCN1720
These characters make me think of “Where the Wild Things Are” by Maurice Sendak. I think he must have been inspired by Balinese art for his children’s story book. I used to love when Mrs. Baker would read this at nap time when I was in pre-school.

DSCN1725

DSCN1727

DSCN1731
On the way to yoga

DSCN1736

DSCN1737

DSCN1738

DSCN1740
The Yoga Barn in Ubud
DSCN1741
Ganesha – the Remover of Obstacles, God of New Beginnings (my favorite Hindu god)
DSCN1742
Buddha at the Yoga Barn
DSCN1743
Meditating Buddha
DSCN1662
On the way to the cock fight, carrying the basket with prize fighting cock. Cock fighting is HUGE in Bali.
DSCN1677.JPG
The other cocks waiting for their fight
DSCN1656.JPG
Hindu cremation funeral procession. Hindus are cremated and their ashes are spread in the ocean. They are only put in the ground as a waiting period until the family can gather the money for cremation.

DSCN1666

DSCN1667

DSCN1668

DSCN1669

DSCN1675
This very interesting staircase was right across the street from the cockfight that was starting up so I came over here to photograph this instead. I’m not really into bloodsport.
DSCN1728
Check out these cute little cars driving all over Ubud
DSCN1730
Bali’s version of a mini Cooper? Super cute!
DSCN1760
Lunch at the rice terrace
DSCN1764
Chicken satay with peanut sauce and fresh mango juice
DSCN1763
Relaxed
DSCN1759
A journey of a thousand miles starts with one step
DSCN1767
Climbing the rice terrace
DSCN1770
Rice terrace
DSCN1777
Rice Terrace
DSCN1778
Rice terrace
DSCN1771
The view from the top of the rice terrace
DSCN1781
Ganesha in the Enlightened Nirvana pose
DSCN1791
A coconut with dinner
DSCN1794
Grilled seafood dinner on the beach
DSCN1789
I walked down to the water while I waited for my entree

DSCN1784

DSCN1792
Tables set for dinner on the beach
Leave a Reply

