June 17 Elephant Ride

“Love the one who is love, the one who gives us the power. The one who made everything: elephants and flowers. The one who will listen when all others will not. There will be peace for those who love God a lot.” Prince, Elephants and Flowers

I rode an elephant today, his name is Tony, he is 22 years old and from Sumatra. San from Bakas Adventure Team was the elephant keeper who helped me ride Tony. The ride was very bumpy and unstable and terrifying but fun, if there is such a thing. The video is very shaky but you really get a sense of the excitement of the ride. Tony submerged himself in a pool of water then stepped up on a tree stump and jumped off! It was wild. Elephant antics.

Next on the list: I am in search of the most beautiful beach in Bali and today I continued my search. There are so many glorious contenders. Hidden beaches, semi-private ones, crowded beaches. I have reached the conclusion that everything in Bali is beautiful. To round out the evening, drinks at the Rock Bar (at the exquisite Ayana Resort and Spa) and dinner on Jimbaran Beach. I do love my life. Let me know which beach you think is the most beautiful in the comments below. Cheers!

DSCN1947
Before leaving the house
DSCN1956
My elephant sarong for the elephant ride
DSCN2006
Riding Tony, the elephant, with San, the elephant keeper
DSCN1999
There is no saddle, this is free-hand riding!!!
DSCN2000
An elephants back moves a lot, this is a bumpy ride
DSCN2001
You can’t see the terror on my face – but it’s there

DSCN2002

DSCN2003
Whose idea was it to get elephants to stand up on stumps. This just became a core workout for me.
DSCN2012
I instinctively lean forward and not back – that was just too scary.

DSCN2014

DSCN2015
OMG!
DSCN2016
Get me off of here! LOL.
DSCN2017
I am holding on to the elephant. I don’t know how I didn’t slide ride off. I guess it is that whole will-to-live thing.
DSCN2018
My butt needs a little help from your hand

DSCN2019

DSCN2020
Awww….
DSCN2021
He really is a gentle creature.
DSCN2024
San, the elephant keeper and Tony, the elephant – both from Sumatra
DSCN2042
This was my first glimpse of the hidden beach as we approached

DSCN2039

DSCN2046
White Sand Beach
DSCN2055
With my new friend, Danny

DSCN2054

DSCN2053

DSCN2061

DSCN2063
I drank Tony, the elephant’s, weight in coconuts on this trip to Bali
DSCN2076
Before
DSCN2077
Wait for it……..
DSCN2074
Gotcha!

DSCN2090

DSCN2068

DSCN2092

DSCN2094

DSCN2099
Ayana Resort

DSCN2101

DSCN2103

DSCN2105
Photo bombed?????
DSCN2107
Ayana Resort
DSCN2113
Heading down to the Rock Bar – a bar down on a rock in the water
DSCN2118
I made it!
DSCN2120
Chillin’ at the Rock Bar

DSCN2121

DSCN2130
The Rock Bar’s version of Caipirinha
DSCN2131
Yummy little jelly filled thingies in my drink
DSCN2132
Pretty drink – and the girl ain’t bad either

Fireworks on the beach during dinner tonight:

Mariachi Band serenading dinner patrons on the beach:

4 Comments Add yours

  1. you have some kind of life-loved the quote too! can truthfully say that I have never seen an elephant jump!

    Like

    1. Ha! Thanks so much. He jumped from the stump! It was quite a ride.

      Like

Leave a Reply

