June 24 Priyonce

IMG_1557
Daiquiri named for Prince and Beyonce in Preux and Proper Bar and Restaurant, Downtown Los Angeles

“Despite everything, no one can dictate who you are to other people.” Prince

Tonight I had dinner in downtown Los Angeles at the Preux and Proper. Preux, pronounced “pru” in French means brave, valiant, courageous – this is the name of their downstairs bar. Proper in English means conforming to established standards of behavior or manners – this is the name of their upstairs dining room. Creole flavor in California. Hmmm…sounds like somebody I used to know… >wink!<

Upstairs in the “Proper” dining room, I nibbled on the Crispy Pork Cheek Carnitas with pickled radish, refried red beans, maque choux salsa and frito pie crumble. This tasted like Oakland, California, New Orleans, Louisiana and Albuquerque, New Mexico all in one dish. I loved it. Yums. I also tried the Fried Mississippi Catfish with fried pickles and red remoulade – this one wasn’t that great, in my opinion. We were given a free taste (lagniappe) of our choice of a daiquiri downstairs in the “Preux” Bar. This is a very New Orleans tradition, I can remember my Auntie’s coming around with little tastes of deliciousness from their kitchens announcing “lagniappe” to us as they fed us samples of the meal that was to come. Lagniappe, pronounced “lanyap” is a little something extra given as a bonus.

In the spirit of the tradition, I retreated downstairs to choose my daiquiri. And what luscious goodness did I find? The Priyonce, of course. I don’t know what that means to ya’ll, but to me, the meaning was perfectly clear even before I saw the Symbolina Scroll of my man 0(+-> (Prince). The Priyonce is a daiquiri which combines the flavors of gin, lavender (um…you know for the Purple One), blueberry (because it just tastes good and lemonade (for the Queen Bey). This is what Prince and Beyonce would taste like if they were a free daiquiri in a Downtown LA Bar… and they were delicious!

IMG_1560
Don’t mind if I do…sipping on my Priyonce daiquiri at Preux and Proper, Downtown LA
priyonce n em
Priyonce n ’em
priyonce grammy
Prince and Beyonce performing at the 46th Annual Grammy Awards in 2004, Los Angeles , CA
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jim says:

    I’ll right away grab your rss as I can’t in finding your e-mail subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service.
    Do you have any? Please let me understand in order that I may
    subscribe. Thanks. http://Www.Yahoo.net/

    Like

    1. Hi Jim, I am very new to understanding all of the in’s and out’s of this blog. Do you want to “follow” me? If so, there is an option for that at the bottom of the page of each post. thank you for your interest. I blog about one thing every day but sometimes it takes a few days for me to make the entry. =D Happy reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

