June 28 Shark Week

shark week
I do not work for Discovery Channel, CBS or BET and I do not get payment from them in any way. Just thought I would mention that because for a chick who doesn’t watch TV, I have been plugging a lot of TV this week.

“All things are subject to interpretation. Whichever interpretation prevails at a given time is a function of power and not truth.” Friedrich Nietzsche

All things are connected. Travel with me into the mind of Lulu, Dear Reader,  I’ll explain. It’s Shark Week!  On the off chance that you don’t know what Shark Week is, here you go: Shark Week is an annual, week-long TV programming block created by Tom Golden at the Discovery Channel, which features shark-based programming. Shark Week originally premiered on July 17, 1988. (Thank you, wikipedia).

I don’t have cable (told you I don’t watch TV), so I made up my own Shark Week playlist with Netflix and youtube videos of all kinds of shark related stuff because I don’t want to be left off of the education train just because my vacation fund does not allow for a cable TV budget. I have been vegging out on shark footage: Tiger Sharks, Bull Sharks, Great Whites = The Big Three. I could tell you about the pores on their noses, their rows of teeth, the way they can feel your heartbeat through their skin. They are pre-historic and roamed the oceans back when dinosaurs roamed the earth. And they are bad-ass.

Though I have never met a shark in person, and don’t have any cool pics to show you of sharks, I have a really cool Shark Week t-shirt. Last year I participated in a mud run with coworkers and I wore my super cool “I Survived Shark Week” t-shirt, just ’cause – why not? Here are some awesome pictures of me in action during the mud run. Oh yeah, and the Shark Week t-shirt. Now do you see how all things are connected? Told you.

mud1
Last year’s Mud Run – Lulu on the net ropes
mud3
Teamwork at Dirty Dash 2015 – I’m in the Santa Claus hat
mud2
More teamwork at DD 2015 – getting over the muddy wall
mud4
Guess what folks? I survived Shark Week and a Mud Run in a Santa Claus hat and Mardi Gras beads in the middle of summer in Albuquerque, because I am a baddie and I am damned festive!
Leave a Reply

