July 7 Holy Moley

IMG_1716[1]
This is me and the mole in the car before we walked into the dermatologist’s office. I’m quirky, if you know nothing else about me, know THAT.

“The beauty of a woman is not in a facial mole but the true beauty in a woman is reflected in her soul. It is the caring that she lovingly gives, the passion that she shows. The beauty of a woman grows with the passing years.” Audrey Hepburn

I had a mole removed today for the First time ever in my life. I wasn’t particularly fond of this mole but we’ve been through a lot together so I decided to do the right thing and have a proper going away party. This mole just showed up on my face several years ago and I took it in like a good Momma. Since then I’ve watched it grow big and strong as the years have passed. I have several pictures of myself throughout the years because, you know me, I love the camera! Apparently the mole liked it too and often stole my spotlight. It’s all good, there is enough love to go around.

The Dermatologist is not so fond of the mole and she told me that she’d like to see it in a bottle. So today we scraped that baby off of my face and placed it safely in a little bottle destined for the oncology department. I whispered a little warning to the mole to remember who your Momma is and don’t betray her by showing up with little cancer cells. Ain’t nobody got time for that! Be a good little mole and go to sleep.

I gave my friends the chance to send well-wishes, condolences, goodbyes. I was going to buy a cake but I thought maybe that might be a bit much, so I bought a donut instead and we said our parting words. Here is what I had to say to my mole:

For something so tiny, you were a big part of my life. I have freckles but not a lot of moles so you were the big kid in a small class. I know you may have heard me say bad things about you ruining some of my photos, but that was just talk. That was my vain ego not accepting that things change. We don’t get to keep our 25 year old good looks forever, things start to wrinkle and sag, moles pop up and it forces us to start paying attention to ourselves in different ways than we may have when we were younger. If it turns out that you hold a secret, little mole, that no one wants to hear, I’ll deal with that. I accept you as you are and accept what you came to teach me. We have to say goodbye now. I wish you well. Go in peace.

IMG_1718[1]
Of course as soon as I walked in the examining room, there he was on the cover of the magazine that was sitting on the counter. He had the most beautiful mole I’ve ever seen. That made me happy to have Prince there with me. How perfectly perfect. He showed up to make me feel better about saying goodbye.
IMG_1719[1]
My baby held my hand through the entire procedure. I had to hold a tissue up to the injection site when I got anesthetized. Seriously. I’m making this all into a big farce, but it is surgery.
IMG_1720[1]
This is what I look like now with a big, HUGE, freakin’ band aid on my face! Ha! Ha!

Leave a Reply

