July 14 The Troll Under the Bridge

IMG_2161
The troll under the Aurora Bridge in the Fremont neighborhood of Seattle

“You never know who you are inspiring.”

Do you know the story of the Three Billy Goats Gruff? This is it in a nutshell: three billy goats needed to cross a river to get to greener pastures for grazing so they crossed the river’s bridge one-by-one. There was a hungry troll living under the bridge. Each billy goat promises his bigger, fatter brother as payment to the troll if the troll would just let the billy goat cross, unharmed. The last brother, bucks the troll with his horns (did the troll die? run off?) and no one ever has to fear the troll ever again. They all live happily ever after.

There is a troll under the Aurora Bridge in the Fremont neighborhood of Seattle. He eats old 1960’s era VW Bugs, presumably because they are the billy goats of his era. I charmed this troll by getting close enough to him to whisper my secrets into his ear. He allowed me to pass, unharmed – this time. I promised him that I would enjoy every ounce of this life, that I would see and do many new things. I also promised that I would be back to tell him all about my adventures, if he would only promise to let me pass this time. I thanked him. He sent me on my way.

I drove to Kerry Park and watched the sunset on the skyscrapers of downtown Seattle this evening. It was magnificent. This truly is the Emerald City. I clicked my heels three times, but I did not wish for home. I can’t tell you what I wished for, but I can tell you that it is coming true. I am thankful.

IMG_2156
A troll’s eye view: this is what the troll sees from his perch under the Aurora Bridge
IMG_2168
Fremont Bridge
IMG_2192
Kerry Park at sunset

IMG_2193

IMG_2204
Lulu Starchild at Kerry Park Seattle, Washington
IMG_2182
Dinner at Rock Creek Seafood and Spirits – shrimp and grits for this Creole girl
IMG_2183
Heirloom tomato salad
Leave a Reply

