July 15 Nirvana, Underground, Ducks & Beatz

IMG_2220
A quiet moment at the Kurt Cobain Memorial Bench, Viretta Park, Seattle, Washington

I affectionately call the ’90’s “My Lost Decade”. I was going through a lot o’ shizz in the ’90’s. Yep, the whole freaking decade. And since I hadn’t really developed any sustainable coping skills, I partied my way through it. Yep, the whole freaking decade. I am a rocker at heart, always have been, so when Seattle gave birth to grunge, I loved that baby like it was my own. Raves were all the rave in the ’90’s and you could catch me any night of the week in butterfly wings, body paint and glitter doing my thang on a stage or in a cage – whatevs. Burning Man – check! I once had my own parade from Fisherman’s Wharf to North Beach, complete with a boombox, me in fire flame hotpants, and a melangerie of people willing to follow me through the streets of San Francisco for no good reason other than the fact that I said, “Follow me.” I got the infamous love symbol tattoo inked on my belly in an even more infamous attempt to get myself on MTV. I pierced body parts. I danced on stage with Prince in Oakland and Las Vegas. I worked for the Oakland Raiders and did my alcohol industry spokesmodel nightclub gigs (no, really, that was a real job). I did not refuse an invitation to ANYTHING in the ’90’s. It was my time. And so… I have many “music” memories: songs that transport me, body and soul, to another place and time when I hear them. The band, Nirvana, fronted by lead singer, Kurt Cobain, made up much of the soundtrack to my life in the ’90’s. And then he was gone.

Today I went to Kurt Cobain’s Memorial Bench in Viretta Park in Seattle. Many, many people have visited this bench and left momentos like cigarettes, pennies, flowers, song lyrics, notes tied to the bench with ribbons. It was beautiful in the sad way that only grave sites of legendary musicians who died at the age of 27 from a shot to the head can be. Dang. Heavy.

I went on an underground tour of Seattle (Bill Speidel’s Underground Tour located smack dab in Pioneer Square) led by Janelle (super awesome tour guide). I got the quick and dirty rundown of Seattle’s fire, plumbing and sex trade history. Janelle is hilarious, very knowledgeable on the history of Seattle and she delivers history the only way history should be delivered: with the right dose of humor, cynicism and facts to cement in your brain the truth that all we ever really know is what they tell us, baby. I thoroughly enjoyed this tour and I recommend it if you ever go to Seattle. Ask for Janelle’s tour, she’s everything that Seattle gets right. I love this place! I got my First parking ticket in Seattle today, it just goes with the territory. Keep moving.

From bucolic, tree-strewn neighborhoods, to Seattle’s seedy underground and onto the water! This is Seattle, hello! I went on the Ride The Ducks Tour today (located across the street from the Space Needle). Riding the ducks is a bus that starts out as a city tour then literally drives into the water and becomes a boat. I am not kidding! I have a video, check it out. I saw the most spectacular views of downtown from the water. I learned the difference between houseboats (movable, not connected to sewer), floating homes (permanently attached to a dock, only 500 allowed so if you want to move you have to trade spaces with someone else – no motor, has to be pulled) and house barges (also no motor, has to be pulled).

Then on a fluke, I landed right in the middle of a beats throw down between local, competing beats producers. It was cool to hear their original and borrowed beats. The winner was “Deli” spelled like the sandwich? or “Delhi” spelled like the India? I don’t know but we had a good time watching and listening and dancing before heading onto the Great Wheel for a late night spin! I LOVE THIS CITY!!!!!!

IMG_2226
A love offering left by a fan

IMG_2248

This is the one that choked me up, big time: “My parents still talk about you. RIP.”

 

IMG_2234
I hugged a tree because it’s been a while
IMG_2292
The Central – the bar where Nirvana, Pearl Jam and Soundgarden all got their start

IMG_2267

IMG_2281
The underground tour started on the first floor of this building which is now located underground, it’s complicated….
IMG_2298
We went in the bank building (underground) and saw the Prospector’s Cage where gold was traded for cash twenty four hours a day by the Yukon Gold Rush Prospectors ( I think I have that right, you may have to go on the tour to fact-check me)
IMG_2310
Janelle, the Underground Tour guide – she was superfab!
IMG_2312
Definitely underground
IMG_2333
I parked in this lot and started reading the wall – weird. I don’t know what it’s actually called but I am going to call it the Lovelorn Wall. I can totally relate.
IMG_2340
Finally got to Biscuit Bitch during business hours
IMG_2338
Ordered the Hot Mess Bitch because, you know…
IMG_2344
Loved the ambience so much, I considered getting a job here! But do you see that guy off to the right? He was about to say: “Go get my food, Bitch!” And that’s all it would have taken is one time… Just kidding. “Bitch” is spoken with the utmost love and respect in this trailer- park-turned-respectable-restaurant establishment.
IMG_2351
Ride the Ducks. Do it!
IMG_2348
Bus to boat

 

IMG_2356

IMG_2355
Captain and First Mate
IMG_2386
Ahhhh, the views from the water. Love at first sight.
IMG_2400
Did we ever stop laughing? I don’t think so.

IMG_2564

IMG_2563
Enjoying the music

night ferry

IMG_2420

IMG_2421

night ferry2

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

