July 24 Donuts for Dinner

“Too much love never spoils children. Children become spoiled when we substitute presents for presence.” Anthony Witham

I have never had a Boston Creme Pie, but I have had Boston Creme donuts. We used to lovingly call them “custard” donuts when I was a kid. My mom knew the exact time of night that Donut Time on Midvale Avenue and MacArthur Blvd in Oakland, would be making the “custard” donuts. We would drive there and get a bunch (half dozen) and chow down like our lives depended on devouring the vanilla custard filling and the iced chocolatey goodness. This was like 1981, so I have a long and devoted history to this particular donut, even if they do call it the Boston Creme nowadays. My son hasn’t even been alive long enough to have that type of loving, devotion to a food stuff yet, but he will because this is what we do: we eat.

Today is Tall Handsome Son’s actual birthday. I asked him what he wanted for dinner and the answer was: “the Donut of the Day”. Are you sure you don’t want red beans and rice before we head over? Nope, he didn’t. He wanted the Donut of the Day because today was his day, his birthday and one should get what one wants on one’s birthday, no? I know we had the party yesterday, that was just logistics. I didn’t want to have a birthday party on a Sunday and have to work the next day, so I decided that Saturday suited me better. He was cool with it.

And I was cool with his choice of dinner restaurant: Dunkin’ Donuts. The Donut of the Day was a chocolate cake donut with chocolate icing and sprinkles (that is my other favorite donut – sprinkles just make me happy!) He happens to love all of that chocolate layered on top of each other and I happen to love the multi-colored sprinkles. He got his Donut of the Day and I got my Boston Creme. I know this is a bit “spoiled kid” but if I don’t spoil him now when will he ever be spoiled? Life can be rough folks, and if they never know wild abandon and donuts for dinner, then what happy memories will they have to draw on when the darkness falls? Maybe I think about things like this too much.

Leave a Reply

