July 26 Power Routine

“If today was the last day of my life, would I want to do what I am about to do?” Steve Jobs

There comes a time in the I Dare Me Challenge when you do stuff just because you need to something new in order to fulfill the challenge. I guess that’s cool, but that’s not really why I challenged myself. The challenge actually came from a dark place. When I tell people about my I Dare Me Challenge, they invariably say it’s great, creative, what have you done so far? Stuff like that. Then I tell them or show them pictures and I make a new friend. That’s pretty awesome but what they don’t realize is the pain and struggle that bore this labor of love. I was pretty freakin’ miserable not that long ago and realized that something needed to change.

The day that I found the original book that inspired me, I Dare Me by LuAnn Cahn, I was with my mom in  the book section of a thrift store. I get all of my Wayne Dyer, Eckhart Tolle and Pema Chodron books from the thrift store. Self-help on a budget! I was particularly down about something or other (job, location, relationship, weight, weather – take your pick). I am not saying that lightly, I was down, like in a hole. People who know me find it hard to believe that I have a hole that swallows me up. It’s true, folks, there is a dark, dark side to this smile. I was in the middle of telling my mom about my ritual of going to book stores, libraries, thrift stores, etc. when I am on the edge of the abyss because books just seem to jump off of the shelves at me. Seriously. Books will fall off the shelf, be shaken loose from the vibration of my steps, tip over, stick out in an obvious way. It’s usually a book that changes my life in some way, at the exact moment when I need some life-changing mojo. Not kidding.

The day I was at the thrift store with my mom in 2015, I was telling her how books will jump out at me and can we please stop by the book section in this store because I feel like one is going to jump out at me right now. No sooner than those words left my lips, a woman walked up to me and said: “Is this yours?” She was holding I Dare Me by LuAnn Cahn. I said “Nope” took it from her hands and went straight to the checkout counter. What in the hell was that? I don’t ask any more. I think I am put in places and situations to play out the moment, so I play.

I was recently led to a bloggers site through a series of steps that I could not even begin to recount. The pot of gold at the end of this journey was a blog about a Power Routine. I need a Power Routine. I truly fly by the seat of my pants, and although I love that, I think it’s time to wrangle this life I’ve been living a little bit.

I came up with a morning Power Routine for starters and here it is:

  • Wake up to the sound of pleasant chimes (I already do this one currently)
  • Say a prayer of thanks for anything, everything (I mostly do this one when on long drives, not in the morning – so this is a new time slot for this one)
  • Drink a glass of water (I usually do the warm water and lemon about an hour after waking – so also a new time slot for this one)
  • Meditate for 5 minutes – easy peezy
  • Listen to  my kickass girlpower playlist while getting ready for work (or play) – this is totally new
  • Cold shower – also totally new
  • Kiss my son – I am hit and miss on this one but I will definitely be smooching the kid on a regular basis now
  • Say three nice things about myself, to myself, while looking in the mirror – and mean it (Lynda told me to do this back in 1993 – better late than never)
  • Eat breakfast at home – I always eat breakfast but the “at home” part is new

Here is my kickass girlpower Power Routine playlist:

  • A Beautiful Day by India.Arie
  • Strength, Courage and Wisdom by India.Arie
  • Golden by Jill Scott
  • Feeling Good by Nina Simone
  • Superwoman by Alicia Keys
  • Q.U.E.E.N. by Janelle Monae and Erykah Badu
  • Just Fine by Mary J. Blige
  • Let It Go by Keyshia Cole
  • I Will Survive by Gloria Gaynor
  • Fuckin’ Perfect by Pink
  • Shake It Off by Mariah Carey
  • Royals by Lorde
  • Just A Girl by No Doubt
  • Diamonds by Rihanna
  • Please Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood by Meshell Ndegeocello
  • Ladies First Queen Latifah

I know there are like a gazillion songs in the world of music to choose from, but I wanted to keep my playlist to one hour so that when it finishes, I know that I should be scooting out the door. I’m sure I will probably update this list and change the songs every few weeks because that’s just how I roll, so if you have a good song for me, please feel free to leave it in the comments. I know these songs are kinda R&B heavy, but I’m open to anything: spiritual, chant, instrumental, country, world, latin, reggae, folk,  death metal. Yup. Open.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

