July 28 Keto

“Persistence.”

My personal trainer and I looked at my goals today and decided that in order to lose this last bit of belly fat, I am going to have to change my diet. Drastically. Enter the Ketogenic Diet. What is the point of a Ketogenic Diet? In a nutshell from http://www.bodybuilding.com:

The main benefit of ketosis (the effect of being on a ketogenic diet) is that it increases the body’s ability to utilize fats for fuel. The body gets very lazy on a high-carbohydrate diet. When on high-carbohydrate diets, the body can usually expect an energy source to keep entering the body (the carbohydrates you eat). But in the state of ketosis (carbohydrate deprivation), the body has to become efficient at mobilizing fats (stored in the body) as energy. Causing you to lose fat. BAM!

This means no carbohydrates for me for 30 days (at least), possibly longer. Have to make sure to get lots of fat (salmon, avocado, nuts), salt, potassium, magnesium (coconut water). This is basically (but not the complete list of) what I can eat:

  • Coconut
  • Avocado
  • Kimchi
  • Squash
  • Wild caught fish
  • Organic, steroid-free, hormone-free, antibiotic-free, chicken and eggs
  • Salmon
  • Sardines
  • Anchovies
  • Any other kind of fish
  • Grass fed beef (but I don’t eat beef)
  • Kale
  • Spinach
  • Any green leafy vegetables
  • Avocado oil
  • Coconut oil
  • Olive oil
  • Celery
  • Almonds
  • Nuts and seeds
  • Zucchini pasta
  • Tomatoes (sparingly)

I cannot have:

any fruit, carbohydrates (bread, rice, pasta), root vegetables (beets, potatoes), honey, quinoa, grits,bread, refined food, beans.

I’m not sure if this going to make me nuts, like seriously, psychologically, crazy. My trainer said it will for the first two weeks but other people who have done it said they experienced absolutely no psychotic episodes. I guess we’ll see….

By the way I am currently sitting at 33.27% body fat, which is quite high. Let’s see if I can lower that in the next 30 days. I know there will be no more donuts for dinner events or any humongous cream puffs in my future and I am totally OK with saying goodbye to those lifestyle choices. It’s the beans and rice, the beets, the bread and the honey that are going to hit me hard. If it’s best for me, I can learn to lightly sprinkle those things into my life. Wish me luck!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Keto was so helpful for me. The key about any thing food related is what your relationship with food is. It has taken a long time for me to understand that food is medicinal. It’s not an indulgence because ultimately you are the only one that loses. There are not cheat days, it’s not that you can’t or are not allowed to eat something… it’s that you choose not to, because your body is worth more than a quick fix. 🙂

    Good luck, from a fellow BB member. Pretty sure we even have the same trainer. 😉
    If you ever need some encouragement or just need to vent, I’m always there.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! Your comment is very encouraging and I appreciate you taking the time to read and post.

      Like

Leave a Reply

