August 1 Take Your Plants for a Walk

loyal to the soil

“All plants are our brothers and sisters. They talk to us and if we listen, we can hear them.” Proverb

I missed the actual holiday for Take Your Plants for a Walk Day because I was at a salsa dancing class, so I decided to have a  do-over today. We walked, we talked, it was beneficial for both of us (the plant and I). I wish I knew someone close by with one of those baby carriers or a baby stroller, I would have walked further. As it was, I had to keep switching hands…

Here’s my two cents on house plants. As you know, I am the Plant Lady. I love them all dearly. I would love for all of you to color the world green with all of the leafy babies out there looking for a good Momma and Poppa. All they need is love, light and water. Think about it.

You know how we give plants as housewarming gifts? Research (don’t ask me for an actual study, look it up!) has shown that plants increase happiness. I can definitely attest to this. There is nothing that makes me happier than walking into my house and seeing those juicy leaves, arms open wide, exuding all of that oxygen and clean air into my underground paradise (I live in a basement that I love like an actual, real house).

Have you ever given a plant to someone in a hospital recovering from an illness? Yep. You know why? Because you intuitively knew (even if you didn’t read the study) that plants improve the air quality (by increasing the oxygen, purifying and humidifying the air), increase mental health, lower blood pressure and speed the recovery of those with plants in their rooms.

With that said, there are a few things that I insist on with my babies. No chemical fertilizers, pesticides or weird shit. Anything natural like fish emulsion, epsom salt, crushed egg shells (antibiotic free, hormone free eggs), water, sunshine and love are pretty much all I give my babies. Get some plants. Take them for a walk. I promise you won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

