August 6 Dog Days of Summer

IMG_2860[1]
Me and Mowgli – my son says this is his happy face

“We be of one blood, ye and I,” Mowgli answered…”my kill shall be thy kill if ever thou art hungry.” Rudyard Kipling, The Jungle Book

It has taken me 219 days to finally make my First of working one-on-one with an animal become a reality. January 1, 2016 was supposed to be a day of volunteering at an animal shelter but that didn’t happen. I have no real (live) animal experience. The closest I’ve been to any animals in the last 20 years was when I worked in the Biology Lab in college. I handled human cadavers, yes dead people, vacuum sealed cats in plastic bags, eyes of pigs, frogs and fish, stuff like that. Morbid, I know. There’s so much about me you have yet to learn.

I always tell people when they ask about pets, that I am more of a plant person, which is 100% true. I don’t know anything about dogs, cats, iguanas, pork belly pigs, frogs, snakes, mice, hamsters or bunny rabbits . I know you have to feed these things for them to stay alive and that is the extent of my pet knowledge. I have been told that animals will open my heart, help me to be a more caring, loving person.

Today I was caring and loving to my son’s dog. We drove seven hours in a car with Mowgli (the dog not the little brown boy from the Jungle Book). He was at times anxious, excited, off-balance and possibly a little scared. He stood on all fours for practically the first two hours of driving, sniffing the air and looking out the window. I can only imagine what he was thinking. I think he may have only been in a car previously once or twice for a short ride, never for seven hours. I held him (he’s not a lap dog) on my lap, petted him to comfort him and spoke to him softly. He is such a lovebug.

We drove him from Boulder to Albuquerque (I guess I’m his Grandma) to stay with me for a week. He didn’t bark, whine or pee in the car. What a good boy! I really do love this dog and I haven’t loved a dog since I was a teenager. You can read about my dog’s fate in this world here. He had it rough.

It might not seem like a big thing, but being with a dog is a biggie for me. I really thought all dogs were annoying, crotch-sniffing, wet-nosed, fur balls who shed and barked and whined and peed everywhere. I guess some are, but Mowgli is pretty chill, so this was a good start. We have a week together: me, the boys and the dog. I hope I’m a good Grandma.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

