August 19 Lulu’s Chicken Shawarma

“There is no sincerer love than the love of food.” George Bernard Shaw

Let me apologize in advance for my Creole-ness. Let me clarify: I am incapable of following a recipe, step-by-step. I don’t measure ingredients, even when I’m following a recipe. I eyeball and taste and guess-timate. I add extra stuff, leave some stuff out. I consider the recipe a suggestion. I do my own thing.

I do love Lebanese chicken shawarma (the way it tastes in the restaurant) so I followed this recipe more closely than I normally would, but not exactly. I wanted it to taste the same but I just can’t do the step-by-step thing, I’m too opinionated.

I cut up six organic chicken thighs and created a marinade with the following (approximations):

  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 tbsp red onions in the food processor
  • 2 tsp fresh ground cumin
  • 2 tsp paprika
  • 3/4 tsp turmeric
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • Pinch of cayenne
  • Pinch of sea salt and black pepper

I marinated the chicken for several hours then baked it in the oven instead of grilling it. After baking it, I sauteed it in more olive oil to get a little crisp on  the edges. C’est magnifique! Paired it with a simple romaine lettuce salad with seasoned cucumbers, Campari tomatoes and red onions with olive oil dressing. Yummy! I usually pay $13 for a chicken shawarma plate at my fave middle eastern eatery. $13 for one serving. I made about six servings for the price of the chicken thighs, roughly $7-$8, I had all of the spices in my kitchen. I’m no mathematician but…I’m gonna be making my own chicken shawarma in the future.

 

IMG_3084[1]
Ingredients for the marinade
IMG_3085[1]
Six chicken thighs cut up into strips
IMG_3086[1]
The marinade bag
IMG_3089[1]
From oven to skillet
IMG_3088[1]
Wonderful salad

Leave a Reply

