September 7 Cauliflower Rice

“One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.” Virginia Woolf

Did you know that you can make rice out of cauliflower? This is a thing. Saving the world, I am. Cauliflower rice contains fiber, vitamins C, K, B6 and potassium and it’s 25 calories per cup, dude. Today I made Cauliflower rice for the first time and I stuffed acorn squash with a medley of said rice, garlic, Garrett Valley bacon and fresh toasted coconut. Delicioso! This was a crazy-good side dish to my roasted chicken thighs wrapped in – you guessed it: more bacon. A handful of olive oil, pan-fried brussel sprouts rounded out my wonderful dinner tonight.

Acorn squash can be a bit tricky if you’ve never sliced one before so I made a “How-To” video on how to cut them open that I hope is helpful to you. Losing a finger is a totally real possibility, if you don’t know what you are doing. So pay attention, peeps.

I am in love with this dish, it’s soooooo flavorful! I just made it up and I am quite pleased with the way everything turned out. I forgot to take a picture or a video of the acorn squash before I stared to eat it. Here is a mid-nosh video:

If you want to make this:

  • Bake acorn squash drizzled generously with olive oil in a 350 degree oven until centers are squishy (cooked), set aside
  • Wash and separate cauliflower into individual florets. Do this ahead of time so they can dry
  • Food processor the cauliflower florets until they look like rice
  • Fry up bacon, crumble it and set aside. I buy Garrett Valley (vegetarian fed pork, no nitrites or nitrates, no hormones, no gluten, sugar-free, dry-rubbbed – good stuff)
  • Fry garlic, add bacon crumbles and fresh coconut
  • Add the cauliflower “rice” into the pan with garlic, bacon and coconut
  • Season generously with sea salt and fresh ground black pepper
  • Fry the rice mixture until slightly golden
  • Stuff acorn squash with rice mixture and enjoy!

Hope you love it.

Leave a Reply

