September 19 More Mary Tyler Moore

“I’m an experienced woman. I’ve been around… Well, all right, I might not’ve been around, but I’ve been… nearby.” Mary Richards, The Mary Tyler Moore Show

Did you love her? On this day in history, September 19, 1970, the Mary Tyler Moore Show debuted on CBS. I wasn’t yet born in September of 1970, I still had roughly nine months to go in the cooker until I made my debut in June of ’71. But I watched the Mary Tyler Moore Show as a kid. I was a latchkey, so I put in a lot of hours in front of the telly. I really liked Rhoda’s mom, Ida. Weird, huh? I was an overbearing Jewish mother even as a child!

This episode: The Death of Mr. Chuckles cracks me up to this day. I have been in that situation so many times. Not at a funeral but definitely at work in boring meetings. I’ll remember something ridiculously funny and catch a fit of giggles, just did it last week. I love Mary’s face when she tries to keep it together. HA!HA!

I discovered today that I can watch episodes of the MTM Show on http://www.youtube.com ’til my hearts content! And I did just that.

One Comment Add yours

  1. She, her show, was something special. I watched it mostly in reruns. It aired during my college years, when TV was not really an option. ☺ Chuckles was a memorable episode.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

