September 20 Thrill The World Practice / Pints and Planks

“Due to my strong personal convictions, I wish to stress that this film in no way endorses a belief in the occult.” Michael Jackson, disclaimer at the beginning of Thriller Music Video/ Mini Movie

Today was an exciting day! After work I went to my very first Thriller Dance rehearsal. I’m going to do the Thrill the World Flash Mob for Halloween this year. Thrill The World is a celebration of dance and community inspired by Michael Jackson. Thousands of people around the world dance the same dance steps to the same song simultaneously on the Saturday before Halloween. I’m down. I have been wanting to do this forever but never found the time to practice / get a cool zombie costume / get over  my fear of zombies (?) I don’t know what my excuses were but this year there are no excuses. I’m going to get down to MJ’s “Thriller” and I’m going to look damned spooky while doing it. Please join me by dancing in your city. You can learn the dance moves here. I bet there is a group offering free Thriller dance instruction where you live, Google it, look it up on Facebook, ask at your local library. Seriously. I was thinking about being an old-school flight attendant zombie. Zombies actually terrify me. I have Night of the Living Dead flashbacks from my childhood. That movie scared the bejesus out of me. This year is about conquering fears, zombie and otherwise. I’ve already gotten some really good tips on zombie make-up from the dance teachers. And I’ve already learned the first three parts to the dance. Yay! I’m so excited.

After my Thriller escapade, I went to the Duel Brewing Company downtown (just what Albuquerque needs – another brewery) and got myself into a Pints and Planks Yoga Class. There are lots of brewery yoga classes popping up. This was my First. It was fun. The yogis were drinking beer as I pondered how they were practicing bird o’ paradise with a belly full o’ beer?  I can’t say how but they were doing it. Challenging class, I’m glad I went. The DJ spun punk music, the crowd was trendily tattooed but still very “downtown hipster” and the teacher was superfab. Brewery yoga gets my vote, I’m going to try a different brewery every week. Yay me.

**UPDATE** October 1  was my first time doing the entire dance all the way through. I’ve been breaking it up part by part with the instructional videos. I wanted to see if I was able to put it all together today. My space is limited because my bed is gi-freakin-normous. Maybe in a couple of weeks I will have the dance steps committed to memory and I won’t need to stand in front of the TV and listen to the teacher mark off the steps. This was fun. I can’t wait to be a terrifying zombie-girl-dancer! Look at my video of my first run-through. Don’t laugh! Nah, you can laugh, it looks kinda goofy.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. best wishes on your dance-so cool! I adore anything Michael Jackson!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Thank you! I’m only 2 days in and having a blast. It’s so fun! Looking forward to 10/29.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

