September 27 Herbs de Provence

provence-france
Provence, France

Herbs de Provence is a robust mixture of herbs made popular in the southeastern region of France. It is often used in the preparation of grilled meats, fish and vegetable stews, and is usually added before or during cooking. Today I purchased Herbs de Provence from World Market and made a delicious chicken meal for my son and I.

Herbs de Provence have the following herbs in the mixture and it smells heavenly:

  • Thyme
  • Savory
  • Marjoram
  • Rosemary
  • Lavender

My son walked in the kitchen while the chicken was baking, his eyes rolled up in his head and he swooned, that is his expression for something that smells delicious. Not only did it smell good, it tasted fantastic. I’ve never baked with lavender before. Yummy. Go get yourself some Herbs de Provence and make a fabulous stew or roast.

I’m going to surprise him this weekend and make popcorn with Herbs de Provence seasoning. I read about this on someone’s blog and I can’t wait to try it. Real popcorn popped on the stove and purchased at the Farmer’s Market from someone’s actual farm, NOT microwave popcorn.

When I am finished with my packaged Herbs de Provence, I will head down to Los Poblanos Organic Lavender Farm (in Albuquerque) and get organic lavender. I am currently not growing the other herbs but I just might get into some organic herb gardening myself, in order to have the herbs on hand at all times to make my own Herbs de Provence. Hmmm… may be another First: herb garden!

france
All of the best things come from this part of France… my great-grandfather hailed from Marseilles, France! (spelled without the last “s” on this map)
Leave a Reply

