October 2 Ginger Kombucha and The Cosmos

img_01081
Grandma, Mommy, Son

“Earth laughs in flowers.” Ralph Waldo Emerson

Cosmos: the universe seen as a well-ordered whole

 The cosmos is the sum total of everything. Every damn thang. Everything you see, hear, smell, touch, feel, think, are and ever will be. The cosmos is the sun, moon, stars, planets, space, time, the air you breathe, mind and memory. It’s also the name of a flowering Mexican herb. My neighbor grows these beautiful flowering herbs in her garden. She showed me how to grow them today. Hers are the purple variety – how perfectly perfect. She popped one flower off and opened the center to reveal the seeds of a future cosmos. She instructed me on how to open the flower, dry the seeds and refrigerate until next spring. When I plant them, they will come back year after year. I have been wanting to plant something in his honor. The cosmos is perfect, precisely because it is everything. Just what he was to me.

After my botany lesson, I took the whole fam damily (the Momma, The Boys, The GF) to Duel Brewery in Downtown Albuquerque. We had Ginger Kombucha and played games: chess and some other game that I didn’t quite understand. We had a great family outing and I saw one of my yoga homies (yomie) that I haven’t seen in a while. He’s working at the brewery now. Sweet day!

intensity
Intensity

 

cosmos
Purple Cosmos
Leave a Reply

