October 8 The Cinderella Murder

“A good friend will help you move, but a true friend will help you move a body.” Steven J. Daniels, Weeds in the Garden of Love

The official rules for the “I Dare Me Challenge” state that if I haven’t done a thing in ten or more years then it counts as a First. True confession: I used to love horror novels. I was in a Stephen King Book Club in the 90’s. I loved being terrified at home, alone, on a dark and stormy night. By clowns. And dogs. And old cars named Christine. And hotels that drove people insane. I could go on forever, there were so many good ones. Shout out to Stephen King! Super weird, I know. I’m such a scaredy cat now. Needless to say, my love for horror abandoned me in my 20’s. I haven’t read a fictional novel in quite a while much less a scary one.

When I discovered a novel in the seat back pocket of airline seat 25F, it was like a gift from the gods. What else was I going to do for the entire flight? Sleep? Nah. I read the entire novel, cover to cover. The Cinderella Murder by Mary Higgins Clark and Alafair Burke. Then I left it in the seat back pocket for someone else to enjoy. It was a pretty good story, mystery though, not horror, but I’m cool with that. I liked that it took place partially in the Bay Area, even though I think the authors took too much liberty with describing Oakland as a suburb or having a nearby exclusive, gated suburb right on it’s outskirts (?) That was a little off. They seemed to be describing a San Ramon / Blackhawk kinda place but the proximity to Oakland was not believable. San Ramon is like 30 minutes away but I got the impression they meant a place right outside of Oakland, like Alameda. If that’s where they were why didn’t they just name it? Ok, picky, picky. I’m just saying. I know it’s it’s fiction. Got it.

I won’t spoil it if you are going to read it, I’ll just give you a brief taste: the story follows a True Crime / Unsolved Mysteries kinda show that investigates cold case murders by re-interviewing all of the key people originally involved in the unsolved crime. There are lots of plot twists and my personal frustration with people who leave voice messages that say “Call me, I have information” without actually telling the information before something diabolical happens to them. Just leave a proper voicemail message, people. We could have been done with this in fifty pages!

Leave a Reply

