October 11 Tony Bennett

tony-b
Ummm…what? Tony B and Snoop

Someone challenged me to listen to completely different music than what is customary for me. There really isn’t a “customary” I will jam out to trance, reggae, rap, R&B, heavy metal, alternative, spiritual, latin, vape, bluegrass, jazz, pretty much anything. But I found something new (to me): enter Anthony Dominick Benedetto AKA Tony Bennett. Before today, I only knew the song, “I Left My Heart in San Francisco” and that was it. To change that, I listened to Tony Bennett all day today, then watched a documentary about him: “The Zen of Bennett” (2012). Great movie.

I love that his children are so involved in the movie and in his career, he seems like a great family man. His “May-December” marriage to a woman 40 years his junior is more like a “May-Next-December” marriage. He’s also an accomplished painter, he is shown sketching throughout the movie. Reminds me of my grandfather, he too was artistic until very late in life.

I loved the musical collaborations with Natalie Cole, Aretha Franklin, John Mayer, Amy Winehouse (sadly the last before her death – Tony mentioned that he was going to talk to her about her drug use but that “talk” never happened). The collaboration that totally blew me away was the one with Lady Gaga. That chick has chops. I absolutely love the video for “The Lady Is A Tramp”.

Here’s to you, Mr. Bennett. I wish you many more happy years, singing and painting and loving your family.

Leave a Reply

