October 24 Rowing For Time

“Strength doesn’t come from what you can do, it comes from overcoming the things you once thought you couldn’t.”

The rowing machine is a great workout that I bet you have never done at the gym. Right? You see it over there in the corner as you walk past it to get to the treadmill. I never touched a rowing machine until I started CrossFit. We row before every class. I am not at all expert on the rower yet, but I’m working on it. Today my First was to complete a 500 meter row for time. My time was 2 minutes and 20 seconds.

The rowing machine is good for you if you are, ahem, older because it’s not as hard on your joints as running. It uses every muscle group in your body. I had to learn this. I previously (and incorrectly) believed it to be an upper body workout. It is, but it works the hell out of your legs and butt too. It is definitely a cardio workout and increases stamina. It’s what I call a “feel good” exercise, it releases those “runner’s high” endorphines. I do not love running, so this is my version of running: sitting on my ass!

Tips For Rowing:

  1. Adjust the damper setting, that dial thing-y on the side. If you are short = lower number, tall = higher number. I am 5’2″ so I put it on 7, might even go to 6 until I perfect my stroke.
  2. Push with the legs, once extended, pivot back with hips then pull with the arms. Don’t do all at the same time or (worse) don’t just pull with all your might using arms only. Ouch!
  3. Sit tall and tighten your core, don’t hunch your back when releasing forward.
  4. Glide. Don’t push your butt back forcefully or jut it forward in an effort to hurry up and take the next stroke. Glide and feel the groove of the machine.
  5. Breathe, this is kinda important so don’t forget to do it.
  6. Smile (if possible). If not, grimace, you can work your way up to a smile.
Leave a Reply

