October 26 Ain’t No Mountain High Enough

“There’s power in looking silly and not caring that you do.” Amy Poehler

Let me just say, that my kids are awesome! They indulge my every request and I make many. I ALWAYS want to do something that they are not too keen on. For example, Comic Con: dressing  up like Darth Vader and Lando Calrissian, riding huge motorized stuffed animals through the mall, re-creating old family photos, etc. But they always indulge me and agree to do whatever silly thing I want. They did this long before the I Dare Me Challenge. I always want to do something new or go somewhere different or try some new food, dance, experience. I love and appreciate that they routinely compromise, step out of their comfort zones and take chances with me.

Tonight my son and I went to dinner at our dearest friends’ house. We had a wonderful dinner and dessert and we laughed and talked. THEN the karaoke machine came out. I didn’t expect Tall Handsome Son to sing with me. Of course, my friends knew I would do it in a heartbeat but what made it super-special was my son singing with me. This is definitely way out for him. He does not sing. He dances, but he does not sing. We had a blast! We sang “Georgia On My Mind” by Ray Charles, “Ain’t No Mountan High Enough” by The Great Miss Diana Ross and the Supremes, “Wild Thing” by The Troggs, “I Wanna Hold Your Hand” by The Beatles and a few others, I’ve lost track. WE HAD SO MUCH FUN!!!

I love my boys. Sing with your kids. Dance with them. Be silly and have a good life. And wear your hot pink and lemon yellow tunic dress from the ’60s on a regular day in 2016 whether or not you expect to sing songs from Ray Charles, the Beatles and the Supremes. In other words, do you, boo-boo.

Leave a Reply

