November 4 Random Roses

boob-bus
The Boob Bus that gives roses and chocolates

“I laughed more in the hospital than I ever have in my life, making fun of all of the weird things that were happening to me.” Christina Applegate on how humor helped her battle breast cancer

October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month but I missed it, so I am having Breast Cancer Awareness Month in November. I got a mammogram today on a bus. Yes, that is correct a bus – I can just hear the jokes now! Nope, it wasn’t some dude named Sly feeling me up while we listened to Stevie Nicks (not this time). It was an actual mobile mammogram station that will travel to you to squish your boobs and interpret the X ray, because that’s how important it is. If you have never had a mammogram, it is all kinds of horribleness. They smash your boobs between two plates of glass while making small talk about the weather and stuff. But it could save your life, so go do it. I’m just not one to lie to you about the procedure. You may not enjoy it but you’ll probably enjoy it much better than having breast cancer. And don’t forget your self tests! Lots of women have the X ray and get a clean bill of health but find a lump on their own through monthly self tests. I’m just saying, if it saves a life, grab a boob. We’re all friends here. The Boob Bus gives out chocolate and roses once your test is complete. I took that idea and ran with it. I bought a dozen roses and a bag of Dove Chocolate Bites and handed them out to my peeps at yoga and in my ‘hood and reminded them of the importance of getting a breast exam. So the next time you look at your beautiful boobs, think of me and go get tested.

Leave a Reply

