November 13 Piedra Lisa Hike

piedra-lisa
Piedra Lisa trail outlined in red in the northeast corner of the map (Sandia Mountains)

“Thousands of tired, nerve-shaken, over-civilized people are beginning to find out that going to the mountains is going home; that wildness is a necessity.” John Muir

The Forest Service describes the Piedra Lisa Trail as trail number 135, 5.82 miles long, rated “Difficult” with an elevation change of 2,099 feet (that elevation change is from a starting elevation of 6,929 feet above sea level), in the Sandia Mountains, part of the Cibola National Forest. Piedra Lisa criss-crosses in and out of the Sandia Reservation. The terrain is mixed rock and dirt, at times very steep, on a well-kept trail. There are downed trees here and there that will have to be traversed but nothing too dangerous. The views of the city of Albuquerque and then of the city of Placitas are spectacular and give a vantage point of both cities that you will not see any other way other than hiking in the mountains.

Today I hiked the entire trail outlined in red above, it took about 5 hours, but we stopped often to rest. I started in Albuquerque and ended up in Placitas. My hiking guide left her car in Placitas earlier in the morning, so that we could rally up and have lunch afterward without having to hike back to Albuquerque (that would have been absolutely insane). This was my First Big Girl Hike. Let me just say that this is way out of my comfort zone. If you know me, you know that I am a CITY GIRL and usually opt not to never leave one. With that being said, this is the year to break out of comfort zones.  I have hiked with my boys in Colorado – but nothing like this. This is what I think of when I think of hiking. The group that I went with were fun. I can’t wait to hike more with them. I am so lucky to find good people with which to surround myself, I was thinking about this throughout the entire hike and giving thanks. It feels good. I love my life.

hike1
I decided to chronicle my hike on social media

hike2

hike-3

hike4
Ponderosa Pines only grow at high elevation ~6,000-10,000 feet above sea level – so they are special to see. In Spring, I heard that they smell like vanilla or butterscotch because of their sap. Yummy. I’ll be back in Spring to smell you!
hike5
The three peaks are called the three little pigs. Awwww….

hike6

hike7

hike8

hike9

4 Comments Add yours

  1. dave baker says:

    Elllllo me lady!!!

    Great pics….this is one of my fave hikes back there in ABQ!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. DAVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks for checking it out. Say hi to Danielle.

      Like

  2. Love the quote at the start – so true. Great post and look forward to reading more.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, hope you enjoy! =D

      Like

Leave a Reply

