December 1 I Love You So Much, Marie Antoinette

marieantoinette
Off with her head!

I landed in Austin this morning and hit the ground running. I had an entire free day, until roughly dinner-time to keep myself busy, so I did. The first thing I did was head straight to the “I Love You So Much” wall. The #100 bus got me close but I had to walk several blocks to make it the rest of the way. Along the way, I passed a castle! A real castle. When I got to the wall at Jo’s Coffee Shop, I met the sweetest couple. They told me the story of the “I Love You So Much” graffiti that has made Austin famous; they took my picture and even gave me hugs. Awww…. Apparently, the coffee shop owner had a bad fight and broke up with her girlfriend. The girlfriend then spray painted “I Love You So Much” on the wall of the coffee shop and it’s been there ever since. People have proposed marriage outside of this coffee shop, in front of that wall!

Next, I headed over to Hopdoddy and had a fab lunch on the sidewalk patio and snuck in a little people-watching, always fun in a new town. As I made my way through the maze of funky shops that make up the South of Congress (SoCo) area, a costume shop called to me. Yep, “Lucy in Disguise” you guessed it. They have E-V-E-R-Y-T-H-I-N-G! I had so much fun pretending to be the Slave Princess Leia from Return of the Jedi, a belly dancer, a Geisha and Marie Antoinette! I wanted to be a jelly donut and a robot too but they put a four costume limit on me! I think they could tell from the sparkle in my eye that I would play dress up until “Last Call” if they allowed me.

Thrift-shopping, vintage-clothing and record-store-browsing, star-gazing and good-eats from Sway for dinner rounded out my first day in Austin.

iloveyousomuch
At Jo’s Coffee in Austin, Texas
One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

